Guide our planning and decision-making by serving on one of our committees.

Our committees work in various ways to provide feedback, test, evaluate, and make decisions that help NTEN provide the best support, resources, and programs for our community and sector.

To ensure our programs and resources are relevant and benefit the community, we include people in our community in our planning and decision-making through committees.

Want to serve?

Let us know which committees you're interested in, and we'll email you when applications open for 2024–2025 service.

Tell us about your interest

Accessibility Committee

NTEN is committed to ensuring that our programs, events, and resources are as accessible as possible. The Accessibility Committee supports and guides these efforts to extend our commitment to equity, values, and mission. Committee members have professional or lived experiences with a range of disabilities, neurodiversity, and inclusion practices.

Time commitment: Monthly meetings up to one hour each, communication between meetings, and voluntary opportunities for material review and development and sub-committee project work outside meetings.

2022–2023 members

Alyah Thomas
Brian Cavanaugh
Celine Osukwu
Danielle Kempe
Dar Veverka
Dave Tinker

John Harrison 
Krin Collins
Laura Patch
Myranda Howard
Rachel Kribbs
Richelle Pittella

Sarah Sebastian
Sonja Palmer
Stacy Clinton
Tricia Maddrey Baker

Community Equity Committee

NTEN is committed to anti-racism and dismantling white supremacy as we build toward liberation. To support a holistic and inclusive approach to equity, it’s essential that our community be directly included in the processes of surfacing, shaping, implementing, and evaluating our work. The Community Equity Committee creates a system of connection and accountability, reviewing NTEN’s equity practices and proposing ways for NTEN to more fully live its values. Committee members are diverse practitioners committed to a world where missions and movements are successful through the strategic and equitable use of technology.

Time commitment: Quarterly meetings for 1–2 hours each, communication between meetings, and minimal material review outside of meetings.

2022–2023 members

Aki Shibuya
Dara Gray
DeAndre Pickett
Katrina Naeve
LaCheka Phillips

Lanette Rivera
Lucy Middleton
Mari Eva Mendes
Nicole Chase
Ola Adegboyega

Rachel Kribbs
Rosa Menjivar Beltran
Sam Chenkin
Smita Vadakekalam

Membership Committee

NTEN’s mission and beliefs are at the heart of all we do. We continue to increase the ways we advocate for the community, convene and collaborate with other organizations, and build programs for emerging needs. The Membership Committee provides NTEN with input and guidance about its programs and benefits, advocacy efforts, and opportunities to better meet our mission. Committee members include people with myriad identities, diverse lived experiences, and backgrounds across the fields of social impact and technology.

Time commitment: Quarterly meetings for 1–2 hours each, communication between meetings, and minimal material review outside of meetings.

2022–2023 members

Amy Frame
Brian Cavanaugh
Diana Daniel-Lorente

Jennifer Keller Jackson
Julie Ziff Sint
Lanette Rivera

Nicole Chase
Paul Morris

Pizzigati Prize Committee

NTEN is proud to steward the Antonio Pizzigati Prize for Software in the Public Interest to celebrate open source software developers in honor of the late Antonio “Tony” Pizzigati, an MIT-trained open source activist. The committee supports the grant process, including aligning on criteria, promoting the application opportunity, and selecting prize recipients. The committee includes veteran activists in the public interest computing community, but members do not need to have software development experience.

Time commitment: Approximately six meetings between September and April, up to one hour each, some communication between meetings, and other actions when appropriate, like circulating the call for applications and reviewing applications.

2022-2023 members

Brian Rodriguez
Ben Wen
Catherine Smith
Elliot Talbert-Goldstein

Jaimie An
Leena Patidar
Nathan Gasser
Nicole Chavez

Salim Lakhani
Wilfredo Sánchez Vega

Session Advisory Committee

The Session Advisory Committee is a group of experts, practitioners, and champions in nonprofit technology. Committee members provide input as part of our community-centered process to develop the Nonprofit Technology Conference’s high-quality educational agenda. The committee creates a list of suggested topics, reviews sessions submitted within a self-selected content area, and provides feedback on the final agenda. There are no qualifications for serving on this committee — you can serve even if you’ve never attended NTC.

Time commitment: From July–January, three one-hour meetings, some communication between meetings, and material review outside of meetings. Mid-October to mid-November is usually a time-sensitive period for committee members to provide input within a particular area of expertise.

2023–2024 members

Alli Stephens
Alyssa Ackerman
Amy Frame
Angela Crist
Ann Blanchard
Audra Hurd
Chrystal Koech
Cindy Leonard
Dani Faulkner
Hillary Esquina

Jaleen Johnson
James Walker
Jason Samuels
Jason Weaver
Jenn Downs
Julia King
Karen Bray-Pollak
Kate Meyers Emery
Kelenda Allen-James
Kimiko Vecchione

Lauren Hopkins
Mari Eva Mendes
Matthew Sucre
Nathan Moore
Patty Breech
Rachel Giathi
Randy Marsh
Rosa Del Angel
Tiffany Nyklickova
Usha Ramamurthy

Technology Committee

Many of NTEN’s programs, resources, and community experiences are facilitated through technology. We’re constantly working to improve systems and migrate to new ones when appropriate. It’s critical to the success of our mission that community members be part of how we plan and implement technology. The Technology Committee is focused on the testing, processes, decision-making, and user experience of the NTEN website, tools, and tech systems that impact our community. People of all technical experience levels are encouraged to apply, as well as those with lived experience with disabilities or neurodiversity that may impact how web and digital systems are used.

Time commitment: Quarterly meetings for 1–2 hours each, some communication, periodic testing, or reviewing staged prototypes between meetings.

2022–2023 members

Aline Lin
Anna Nordstrom
Anne Schuyler-Moon
Aparna Kothary
Carlos Gonzalez
Clint O'Brien
Craig Grella
Dara Gray
Emily Weinberg
Jaclyn Clark

Jenn Johnson
Jennie Renner
Jennifer Dyer
Katelyn Gerber
Kayza Kleinman
Leena Patidar
Lou Kotsinis
Mark Root-Wiley
Mel Bilko

Mohit Kalra
Nathan Gasser
Ola Adegboyega
Prateek Narang
Richard Wollenberger
Sally Weldon
Sonja Palmer

Apply for a committee

Committee applications for 2023–2024 have closed. If you want us to notify you when applications open for 2024–2025, please complete the form below.

We value diverse perspectives and abilities on our committees. Committee members are expected to uphold, advocate for, and abide by NTEN’s commitment to equity and liberation. Committees meet virtually, and NTEN makes accommodations for accessibility or other needs. We request a one-year commitment, though members may end their service at any time. Participation on a single committee is limited to three consecutive years so others can share in these leadership roles.

nten logo
P.O. Box 86308
Portland, OR 97286-0308
+1 503-272-8800

© 2023 NTEN