How the Program is Created

How do we bring you best-in-show sessions year after year? The secret is you, our community!

The educational program for the NTC is community-driven from the very beginning. Here’s how we do it:

1. Propose

We begin with a public call for content ideas, when NTEN members and anyone from the nonprofit technology community can submit session proposals through a form on our website. Applications can be for both those sessions that the submitter is wishing to present as well as sessions that are of interest to attend but the submitter does not have the area of expertise to lead.

2. Vote

Proposed sessions are voted on by the community via our website. A steering committee of representatives from across the sector, as well as NTEN staff, cast their votes via a secure and private jury voting process. The votes are weighted, so that community votes equal 50%, steering committee votes equal 30%, and NTEN staff votes equal 20%.

3. Score

The three scores (from the community, the steering committee, and NTEN staff) are then combined to create an aggregate score. This aggregate score is used as the main framework for session selection.

4. Review

Finally, we review the overall selection of sessions to ensure a well-rounded program is created across five categories: program, IT, leadership, fundraising and development, and marketing and communications. For example, if there are some sessions that are very similar in topic and have high votes, we may pick the most supported one or combine the sessions. We also hold a few spots in the agenda for any timely and critical topics that may emerge.

The session proposal deadline for the 17NTC has passed. We will open the session proposal process for 18NTC in June of 2017.

Who is on the 17NTC Steering Committee?

We are excited to have our largest group ever of amazing community volunteers helping shape the focus and educational content for 17NTC.

Alaina Pitt, Welcoming America
Amanda Johnston, GLBTQ Legal Advocates & Defenders (GLAD)
Andrea Berry, Maine Initiatives Community Foundation
Anthony Caufield, Three Square
Ashleigh Turner, Options for Sexual Health
Birgit Pauli-Haack, NPTechProjects
Burt Edwards, Interaction
Cary Walski, MSP NP TechClub
Cathy Whitlock, National Parkinson Foundation
Cindy Leonard , Bayer Center for Nonprofit Management at RMU
Cristen English, Creative Suitcase
Debra Askanase, Community Organizer 2.0
Emily Weinberg, APA
Erika Roach, Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health
Francis Miles, Feba Radio UK
James Porter, The END Fund
Jeanne Allen, Jeanne Allen Consulting and NCTech4Good
Jennifer Jordan, Kids’ Food Basket
June Reyes, Willamette Partnership
Kim Hearn, Icing Smiles
Lauren Girardin, Lauren Girardin Consulting
Lokyee Au, Asian Pacific American Network of Oregon (APANO)
Margaux O’Malley, Grand Junction Design / NTEN’s Drupal online community group
Mark Hallman, Evergreen Digital Marketing
Mary Beth Harrington, 501c3 – Taking Nonprofits to the Third Power
Norman Reiss, Center for Court Innovation
Peter Panepento, Panepento Strategies
Roshani Kothari, D-Tree International
Sue Anne Reed, The Engage Group
Therese Edney, Saint Louis Science Center
Todd Tolbert, The Internet Society
Vered Meir, Year Up